foodchem

foodchem additives

Is Menthol Crystals Gluten Free

Menthol Crystals is a natural spice manufactured through chemical synthesis or extraction from Peppermint Oil, available as white waxy crystalline. It’s widely used as aromas & perfumes in food and beverage for its special potent fragrance.
Is Menthol Crystals gluten free?

Yes. Menthol Crystals is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide special fragrance to candy.
Why is Menthol Crystals gluten free?

To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Menthol Crystalsis a natural spice which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Menthol Crystals are various organic chemicals; Menthol Crystals barely includes gluten impurity. So, Menthol Crystals is gluten free.
How is Menthol Crystals used in gluten free food?

Menthol Crystals is widely used in food and beverage to provide special fragrance to candy. Menthol Crystals is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.
Why should you go Gluten free?

Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

- See more at foodchem: http://www.foodchemadditives.com/gluten-free/2215