foodchem

Is DATEM Gluten Free

DATEM is an ester manufactured through chemical synthesis from Ethanol, available as white or off-white solid . It’s widely used as emulsifier in food production with E number E472e in food and bakery for its a great emulsifier primarily used in baking to create a strong gluten network in dough.
Is DATEM gluten free?

Yes. DATEM is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide baking to create a strong gluten network in dough to biscuits, coffee whiteners, salsa con queso, ice cream, and salad dressings.
Why is DATEM gluten free?

To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, DATEMis an ester which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of DATEM are ther synthesized chemical ingredients; DATEM barely includes gluten impurity. So, DATEM is gluten free.
How is DATEM used in gluten free food?

DATEM is widely used in food and bakery to provide baking to create a strong gluten network in dough to biscuits, coffee whiteners, salsa con queso, ice cream, and salad dressings. DATEM is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.
Why should you go Gluten free?

Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.
- See more at foodchem: http://www.foodchemadditives.com/gluten-free/3501