foodchem

Is Crystalline Fructose Gluten Free

Crystalline Fructose is the solid form of Fructose, available as white crystal. It’s widely used as sweetener in food and beverage for its high sweetness.
Is Crystalline Fructose gluten free?

Yes. Crystalline Fructose is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide cool sweet taste to candied fruit, corn flakes and cereals.
Why is Crystalline Fructose gluten free?

To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Crystalline Fructoseis a monosaccharide (or simle sugar) which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Crystalline Fructose are glucose derived from corn; Crystalline Fructose barely includes gluten impurity. So, Crystalline Fructose is gluten free.
How is Crystalline Fructose used in gluten free food?

Crystalline Fructose is widely used in food and beverage to provide cool sweet taste to candied fruit, corn flakes and cereals. Crystalline Fructose is also widely used in daily gluten free recipe, such as sugar. Please follow professional instructions to decide the appropriate combination and dosage.
- See more at foodchem: http://www.foodchemadditives.com/gluten-free/2191