foodchem

Is Butylated HydroxyToluene Gluten Free

Butylated HydroxyToluene is a lipophilic organic compound manufactured through chemical synthesis, available as white crystals or crystalline powder. It’s widely used as antioxidant in food production for its antioxidant effect.
Is Butylated HydroxyToluene gluten free?

Yes. Butylated HydroxyToluene is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide better appearance and longer shelf-life to oil and fat.
Why is Butylated HydroxyToluene gluten free?

To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Butylated HydroxyTolueneis a lipophilic organic compound which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Butylated HydroxyToluene are various organic chemicals; Butylated HydroxyToluene barely includes gluten impurity. So, Butylated HydroxyToluene is gluten free.
How is Butylated HydroxyToluene used in gluten free food?

Butylated HydroxyToluene is widely used in food production to provide better appearance and longer shelf-life to oil and fat. Butylated HydroxyToluene is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.
Why should you go Gluten free?

Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.
- See more at foodchem: http://www.foodchemadditives.com/gluten-free/2193