foodchem

Halal Certified Sodium Alginate

Halal is an Arabic word means lawful or permitted. It is always mentioned along with Haraam which means sinful or prohibited by Allah. At the same time, you will also be able to find another related term in Islamic food, mushbooh which means doubtful or suspect as it is unclear whether they are Halal or Haraam. For mushbooh food, the products’ source and manufacturing process need to be audited to decide whether it’s halal or haraam.
Sodium Alginate

Sodium Alginate is the sodium salt of Alginic acid. As a plant derived ingredients, Alginates, including Sodium Alginate, calcium Alginate and Propylene Glycol Alginate, are general recognized as halal. We will still audit another 2 key points to make sure that our Sodium Alginate is 100% halal: Are there any pig products used in manufacturing process of this ingredient? Does the ingredient contain Alcohol (impure) or other haraam ingredients?

The manufacturing process of Sodium Alginate is pig-free; the raw materials (or culture medium) are Algin, Calcium chloride, strong acid and Sodium carbonate. No other haraam ingredients will be used used in manufacturing process of Sodium Alginate.
- See more at foodchem: http://www.foodchemadditives.com/halal/1548