Halal Food and Haram Food



Although the list of Islamic dietary restrictions is not long, haram foods might show up as by-products in long lists of ingredients in prepared foods.

What Foods are Haram for Muslims to Eat?

Islamic dietary laws are based on verses in the Qur'an which forbid Muslims from consuming the following products:

alcohol and other intoxicants pork or pork by-productsblood or blood by-productsanimals which have not been slaughtered according to Islamic guidelinescarrion (animals which are found dead)carnivores or birds of preyanimals killed by falls, blunt trauma