Paycheck Rhode Area, Unique Areas of Rhode Island Paycheck Law and Practice

The Rhode Island State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes taken from payroll checks is:

Office of Administration

Department of Taxation

One Capitol Hill

Providence, RI 02908-5800

(401) 222-3911

http://www.doa.state.ri.us/

Rhode Island allows you to utilize the Federal W4 Form to estimate state tax withholding.

Not all states allow pay savings made under Section 125 cafeteria strategies or 401( e) to be addressed in exactly the same way as the IRS code allows. In Rhode Island cafeteria plans are not taxable for tax calculation; not taxable for un-employment insurance purposes. 401( k) plan deferrals aren't taxable for income taxes; not taxable for unemployment purposes.

In Rhode Island additional wages are taxed at a 7% flat rate.

You should file your Rhode Island state W-2s by magnetic media if you're have at the very least 2-5 employees and are required to file your federal W-2s by magnetic media.

The Rhode Island State Unemployment Insurance Firm is:

Division of Labor and Training

1-15 Pontiac Ave.

Cranston, RI 02920

(401) 243-9137

www.dlt.state.ri.us/

The State of Rhode Island taxable wage base for unemployment purposes is earnings around $14,000.00. This forceful patent pending web site has assorted dynamite aids for where to recognize this concept.

Rhode Island requires Magnetic media reporting of regular income reporting if the company has at least 200 workers that they are reporting that quarter and if at least 20 customers.

Un-employment documents should be kept in Rhode Island for a minimum period of four years. This information generally includes: name; cultural protection number; days of hire, rehire and termination; earnings by period; payroll pay periods and pay dates; time and circumstances of termination.

The Rhode Island State Agency charged with enforcing the state wage and hour laws is:

Division of Labor and Training

Division of Labor Standards

610 Manton Ave.

Providence, RI 02909

(401) 462-8550

www.dlt.state.ri.us/

The minimum-wage in Rhode Island is $6.75 hourly.

The general pro-vision in Rhode Island regarding spending over-time in a non-FLSA covered employer is one and one half times normal rate after week.

Rhode Island State new hire reporting requirements are that every employer must report every new hire and rehire. The federally required elements must be reported by the employer of:

Employee's name

Medical insurance

wage withholding address

Employee's handle

Employee's social security number

Employer's name

Employers target

Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)

These records should be noted within fourteen days of the hiring or rehiring.

The data could be sent like a W-4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.

There's $500 for conspiracy in Rhode Island and $20.00 punishment for a late report.

.

.

.

.