Delve into Auto Insurance in Delaware
Understanding the details of auto insurance in your State is essential to getting a deal that combines the right level of cover with affordability. Understanding the legal requirements of the State of Delaware is the first stage in ensuring you achieve cheap auto insurance (carinsurancecheap) that meets your needs. Once you are clear about the minimum requirements, additional insurances and potential discounts you can begin to design an affordable policy that provides you with an appropriate level of coverage.
Minimum insurance requirements in Delaware
Drivers in Delaware are expected to have at least the State minimum amount of liability insurance. Liability insurance minimums in Delaware are slightly lower compared to those of other States:
- $15000 per person personal injury cover
- $30000 per accident injury and death cover
- $10000 damage to property cover
Choosing to only insure yourself at these minimum levels can lead to massive bills that need to be settled through your assets and savings. Experts suggest that more realistic cover should be in the region of $300000, per accident and $100000 per person.
Additional insurances to consider
Uninsured or underinsured driver cover, while not compulsory in Delaware is always worth considering. Not only does it cover you and your passengers if the driver that hits you does not have adequate insurance, but it also covers you in the event of a hit and run incident. Collision insurance supports you in meeting the costs of repairing or replacing your vehicle after an accident. Comprehensive insurance is useful for covering damage that is not accident related, such as fire, theft and flood.
Auto insurance rates
Delaware has an extremely high average premium rate. In 2013, premiums were in the region of $2200, almost $400, above the national average. One of the main reasons for this is the high density of the population in the State. However, insurance rates are affected by a range of other State specific aspects such as:
- Weather conditions
- Economic stability
- Level of uninsured vehicles
- Crime rates
- Availability of insurers
Auto insurance rates are also affected by a range of personal factors, including:
- Driver's record
- Annual mileage
- Vehicle type
Drivers in Delaware can apply for a range of discounts when considering auto insurance policies. Discounts are similar to those found in the majority of other States and include:
- Accident free discounts
- Good driver discounts
- Good student discounts
- Passive restraint discount (for autos with factory installed airbags and other such safety features)
- Discounts for drivers with more than one automobile on a policy
- Drivers holding more than one policy with the insurance company
- Defensive driving course discounts for drivers aged 55 and over
Driving without insurance
Driving without insurance is taken very seriously in the State of Delaware. Being caught without insurance will lead to a fine of $1500, for a first offence. Fines can rise to $3000, for subsequent offences and you could have your license suspended for six months. This could be detrimental to your work and home life, not to mention your savings and assets. Consider which is easier in the long run taking the risk of such penalties or spending a little time researching to get excellent auto insurance deals.