Facts and Figures concerning the Presidents of the USA

Facts and Figures concerning the Presidents of the USA

The first president of america was not George Washington. Per Your Request contains more about where to recognize this thing.

Washington was the first president under the Constitution of June 2-1, 1788, ratified by 1790.

The initial constitution of america was titled 'Articles of Confederation' and was in effect between 1781 and 1788. It made a single house of Congress and no executive - but also for 12 months during this time period (1781-2, John Hanson served as 'President of US in Congress Assembled' - or, in short, President of the United States. He was elected by his colleagues, including George Washington.

Hanson was followed by Elias Boudinot (1783), Thomas Mifflin (1784), Richard Henry Lee (1785), Nathan Gorman (1786), Arthur St. Clair (1787), and Cyrus Griffin (1788).

California was the EIGHTH president of the USA.

Lots of the features of the American presidency are fairly recent. The length of the presidency was not limited to 2 terms until 1951 in the 22nd Amendment to-the US Constitution. Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1882-1945) was elected to 4 consecutive terms between 1932 and 1944.

The president's inauguration day used to be on March 4. After Roosevelt died in-office in 1945, it was changed to February 20.

Blacks couldn't become president until 1870 and girls not until 1920.

The presidential income remained the same for nearly 100 years. It was named at $25,000 per year until 1873 when it was doubled. The president had no expense account until 1907 when $25,000 were added to his compensation to cover expenses linked to his office. The salary to-day stands at $390,000 plus $50,000 in bills.

Retired presidents were not qualified to receive a situation pension until 1958. The Former President's Act gave them $25,000 annually, an office and minimal staff. Dig up new information on this related website - Hit this hyperlink: return to site. The pension today stands at c. $161,000 - exactly like a cabinet secretary.

Presidents are not elected by popular vote but by an electoral college representing the states. John Quincy Adams (18-24), Rutherford Hayes (1876), Benjamin Harrison (1-888) and George W. To study additional information, we recommend you glance at: consumers. Bush (2000) lost the entire election but won the presidency.. Learn extra resources on our favorite related encyclopedia by visiting www.