Norway - InfoBarrel

The official name of Norway is Kingdom of Norway and its local name is Norge. It is located in north-west Europe, bounded to the north by the Arctic Ocean; to the east by Sweden, Finland and Russia; to the west by the North Sea and Norwegian Sea; and to the south by the Skagerrak that includes the dependencies of Svalbard and Jan Mayen Island (Arctic) and Bouvet Island, Peter I Island and Queen Maud Land (Antarctica).

Two centuries of Viking raids into Europe slowly diminished following King Olav TRYGGVASON adoption to Christianity in 994. The conversion of the Norwegian kingdom occurred over the next several decades. In 1397, Norway was absorbed into a union with Denmark lasting more