List of State Abbreviations and Capitals

The United States comprises fifty constituent states and one district. Located in the North American continent, the country gained independence from the rule of Great Britain in 1776. At that time, it had only 13 states. Between the 19th and 20th century, the United States expanded across the North American continent by including 37 new states and acquiring a number of overseas territories. Washington, D.C. is the capital, and New York is the largest city.

The Postal Service of United States mainly uses the abbreviations of American states. They help to process the mail quickly with the help of automated equipment, such as OCR (Optical Character Recognition). These two-letter, no-peri