Payroll Alabama, Special Aspects of Alabama Paycheck Law and Practice
The Alabama State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes taken from payroll checks is: Department of Revenue Tax Division Withholding Tax Area 5-0 North Ripley St. P.O. Field 327480 Montgomery, Alabama 36132-7480 334-242-1300 www.ador.state.al.us/withholding/index.html Alabama requires that you use Al type A-4, Personnel Withholding Exemption Certificate in the place of a Federal W-4 Form for Alabama State Income Tax Withholding. Not all states allow pay savings made under Section 125 cafeteria programs or 401( e) to be treated in exactly the same manner while the IRS code allows. In Alabama cafeteria plans: are not taxable for tax calculation; are taxable for unemployment insurance purposes. 401( k) program deferrals are: not taxable for income taxes; are not taxable for un-employment purposes. In Alabama supple-mental wages are taxed in a 5% flat rate. You might file your Alabama State W-2s by magnetic media if you elect to. The Alabama State Un-employment Insurance Firm is: The Department of Industrial Relations 649 Monroe Street Montgomery, Alabama 36131 334-242-8990 www.dir.state.al.us/ Their State of Alabama taxable wage base for unemployment purposes is wages up to $8000.00. Al involves Magnetic media reporting of regular income reporting if the employer has at the very least 250 employees that they're reporting that quarter. Unemployment documents should be stored in Alabama for a minimum amount of five years. This information typically includes: name; social protection number; dates of hire, rehire and termination; wages by period; payroll pay periods and pay dates; time and circumstances of termination. The Alabama State Agency charged with implementing the state wage and hour laws is: The Department of Industrial Relations 649 Monroe Street Montgomery, Alabama 36131 334-242-8990 www.dir.state.al.us/ There is no pro-vision for minimum wage in their State of Alabama. There is also no general pro-vision in Alabama State Law addressing paying over-time in a non-FLSA covered employer. Al State new hire reporting requirements are that every manager should report every new hire, rehire and remember. The federally required elements must be reported by the employer of: Workers name Personnel handle Personnel social security number Companies name Businesses address Companies Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) These details must be noted with-in 7 days of the hiring or rehiring. The info could be delivered like a W-4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically. There is a $25.00 fee for a late statement in Alabama. The Alabama new hire r-eporting agency could be reached at 334-353-8491 or online at www.dir.state.al.us/nh.htm.. Al does let compulsory direct deposit nevertheless the employees choice of financial institution must meet federal Regulation E regarding choice of financial institutions. The Infographic includes more concerning where to mull over it. Al does not have any State Wage and Hour Law provisions concerning pay stub data. In Alabama there are no statutory requirements regarding pay frequency or the lag between once the lag time between once the services are conducted and if the staff should be paid. Nor for that matter does Alabama have legal provisions concerning whenever a fired employee, voluntary or involuntary, should be paid. Dead personnel wages have to be paid when typically as a result of surviving partner or custodian of minor children. Escheat laws in Alabama need that unclaimed salaries be paid up to the state after twelve months. There is no pro-vision in Alabama law regarding report storage of abandoned pay records. There's no pro-vision in Alabama law concerning suggestion loans against State minimum-wage. In Alabama the paycheck laws addressing required rest or meal breaks are just that: children under 16 must have rest to 30 minutes after five hours of work. There's no provision in Alabama law regarding report maintenance of wage and hour records therefor it is probably smart to follow FLSA tips. The Alabama agency charged with implementing Child Support Orders and regulations is: Alabama Department of Human Resources Daughter or son Support Enforcement Division 5-0 Ripley St. Montgomery, AL 36130-1801 334-242-9300 www.dhr.state.al.us/csed/default.asp Al has the following provisions for child support deductions: When to start Withholding? Just after receipt of order. When to send Payment? With-in 7 days of Payday. When to send Termination Notice? With-in 1 week of termination. Maximum Administrative Cost? $2 each month. Withholding Limitations? Federal Policies under CCPA. Take note that this article is not updated for changes that can and may happen from time to time..